Interoperability and Technology/Tech Dive Webinar Series

From Federation of Earth Science Information Partners

Tech Dive Webinars

12 May 2016: "Leaflet Time Dimension": Biel Frontera, SOCIB

Summary: Leaflet.TimeDimension is a free, open-source Leaflet.js plugin that enables visualization of spatial data with a temporal dimension. It can manage different types of layers (WMS, GeoJSON, Overlay) and it can be easily extended. It meet some common needs, enabling web maps using observational and forecasting layers generated by a THREDDS server (via ncWMS), animating trajectories of drifters, gliders, follow a simulated oil spill, and other time dependent mapping applications.

Speaker: Biel Frontera was trained as a mathematician, and has spent most of his career developing software. He is a free software enthusiast and has worked for the last 3 years on data visualization and geospatial software issues for SOCIB, the Baleric Islands Coastal Observing and Forecasting System.

Time: May 12, 2016, (3:00pm ET | 2:00pm CT | 1:00pm MT | 12:00am PT)

Join meeting:

Links:

21 Apr 2016: "The New Geoplatform.gov": Tod Dabolt, DOI

Summary: Geoplatform.gov was recently rebuilt from the ground up. Tod will talk about new features of the platform and plans for the future.

Speaker: Tod Dabolt is the acting Geographic Information Officer for the Department of Interior, and the technical lead on Geoplatform.gov.

Time: April 21, 2016, (2:00pm ET | 1:00pm CT | 12:00pm MT | 11:00am PT)

Join meeting:

Links:

Recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-ABUpy4Qvk

Slides: https://speakerdeck.com/esipfed/the-new-geoplatform-tod-dabolt-doi

13 Oct 2015: Raj Pandya on AGU's Thriving Earth Exchange and Sharing Solutions

The Thriving Earth Exchange is a network and platform that connects community leaders, sponsors, and scientists and helps them combine science and local knowledge to solve on-the-ground challenges related to natural hazards, natural resources, and climate change. I’ll talk about the general principles on which we are building TEX and describe the basic modules that are part of the TEX. Drawing on the lessons learned from our pilots, I'll talk about how we are developing modules and launching new projects with several partners. I’ll describe a range of projects – from a community monitoring effort in Denver to a Pamiri Mountain project to integrate climate projections into traditional calendars. I’ll introduce our nascent “share” module, and describe our partnership with Amazon Web Services to move prototype community-based solutions to the cloud to enhance their adaptability. And, just to live up to the name, I’ll frame it all around a small rant about the loading-dock model of science and a rave about more participatory approaches.

Slides

PDF

WebEx Recordings

Streaming | Download (The talk starts at about 12:15 into the recording.)

13 Aug 2015: Rich Signell on Catalog-driven Workflows for Science

"Catalog-driven, reproducible workflows for ocean science: Comparing sea level forecasts along the US Coastline"

Rich Signell

Filipe Fernandes

The USGS Integrated Ocean Observing System (US-IOOS) requires that data providers use standard web services (OPeNDAP+CF, OGC WMS, OGC SOS) for distributing model products and insitu observations. The services are captured in ISO metadata records and searchable via standard catalog services (OGC CSW).

This presentation will demonstrate how to use this system in a reproducible Jupyter Notebook, discovering, accessing and using model and observed water levels along the US Coastline, using a free python environment that can be installed on Mac, Windows and Linux in less than 10 minutes.

Slides

Speaker Deck | PDF

WebEx Recordings

Streaming | Download (The talk starts at about 12:30 into the recording.)

11 June 2015: NDS Labs, Matt Turk

Matt is a member of the NDS Labs technical advisory committee and will present NDS Labs as a platform for exploring data services -- enabling the separation of data and its representation, and how NDS Labs is functioning as an emerging platform for such separation.

Slides

PDF

WebEx Recordings

Streaming | Download (The talk starts at about 21:00 into the recording.)